Brown and Caldwell Home Page
Recent News BC IN THE NEWS

BC is making news with award-winning environmental services and projects around the country. For updated industry news in your neighborhood, subscribe to BC Water News, our online newsletter that delivers the latest headlines in the business to your desktop, free!
Brown and Caldwell to honor Dr. Pedro Alvarez with Lifetime Achievement Award at Battelle Conference

WALNUT CREEK, Calif., April 9, 2018 -- Brown and Caldwell will present renowned nanotechnologist, researcher, and educator, Dr. Pedro Alvarez, with a Lifetime Achievement Award in honor of his remarkable career during Battelle's Eleventh International Conference on Remediation of Chlorinated and Recalcitrant Compounds in Palm Springs, Calif.

Dr. Alvarez has dedicated his career to advancing critical environmental research in the fields of nanotechnology, bioremediation, chemicals fate and transport, water footprint of biofuels, water treatment and reuse, and antibiotic resistance control. He is widely recognized for his significant contributions to enhancing water resource sustainability through water pollution control.

The award from Brown and Caldwell will join the roster of Dr. Alvarez's many accolades, including election to the National Academy of Engineering in 2018 for "contributions to the practice and pedagogy of bioremediation and environmental nanotechnology," the 2014 American Academy of Environmental Engineers and Scientists (AAEES) Grand Prize for Excellence in Environmental Engineering and Science, and a 2012 Clarke Prize laureate designation.

Dr. Alvarez is a Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering at Rice University, where he also serves as Director of the National Science Foundation, Engineering Research Centers (NSF ERC) on Nanotechnology-Enabled Water Treatment (NEWT). 

Lifetime Achievement Award Honorees

2018: Pedro J.J. Alvarez, Ph.D.

2014: Paul C. Johnson, Ph.D.

2012: John A. Cherry, Ph.D., P. Eng

2011: Raymond C. Loehr, Ph.D.

2010: Robert C. Borden, Ph.D.

2009: Robert Norris, Ph.D.

2008: Perry L. McCarty, Ph.D.

2007: John T. Wilson, Ph.D.

2006: C. Herb Ward, Ph.D.

2005: Richard (Dick) L. Raymond Sr.


Our Sustainability Story

Collaborative Delivery

Sacramento Regional County Sanitation District: Pilot Study

Connecting to World Class Solutions

Technical Papers